A Lorrha Miscellany

A Lorrha Miscellany is a collection of articles and profiles relating to the parish of Lorrha.

It is divided into three sections. The first section includes six historical pieces. These include O'Sullivan Beare's crossing of the Shannon in 1603, the history of the Parsonstown to Portumna Railway, better known as the 'Stolen Railway', the story of Lorrha man, Martin O'Meara, who won a Victoria Cross with the Australian Expeditionary Force in World War 1, the Shooting of Sergeant Brady in Lorrha in 1919, an account of all the different fields in the parish in which hurling was played over one hundred years, and the Burning of Portland House in 1938.

The second section contains extensive profiles of the eight Lorrha players who won All-Ireland senior hurling honours with Tipperary. They are Tom Duffy (1925), Mick Cronin (1930), Tony Reddin (1949, 1950, 1951), Liam King (1971), Noel Lane (1971), John Madden (1989, 1991), Ken Hogan (1989, 1991) Patrick Bonner Maher (2010).

The final section features the author's early heroes and other parish hurlers who made names for themselves on the hurling filed. They are Mick O'Meara of the Hill, Tom Lambe, Hubie Hogan, Eugene O'Meara, Mick Brophy, Billy Hogan, Sean (Johnny) O'Meara, John McIntyre, Brian Mannion.

Photos from the launch of the book which took place at the Friar's Tavern in Lorrha on Oct 12th 2012 are available at the Lorrha website which can be accessed by clicking here. A video of the a speech given by the author is available here.

Hardcover: 264 pages
Published: 2012
Publisher: Seamus J King
Availability: From the Author